Supplying

This semester I’m an occasional teacher, and I’m excited for all that I will learn from it! I think being able to experience so many different schools, classrooms, courses, teaching/admin methods, room set-ups, etc, and to interact with so many students will be a great learning experience.

I’ve gone in several times already, and somethings I’ve learned are:

  • choice for students is crucial, but needs to have limits
  • according to students, every teacher is the best one ever and the worst one ever (a good reminder to not take comments personally)
  • a whistle for gym classes is an absolute must (also: I love covering gym classes!)
  • always better to have extra work for students than not enough
  • the more teachers/staff/admin who are on board with policies makes them so much easier to implement
  • there is a huge variety of teaching strategies being used out there, and students roll with it for the most part (reminder: don’t be scared to try different things)
  • perhaps my favourite: high school students are hilarious (I need to write down some of the things I hear!)

I hope to add to this list that I can spell “occasional” correctly on the first try!

I’ll keep writing about my occasional teaching experiences as the semester goes on!

This entry was posted in Learning, Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

