I really had no idea

Here I am, about three months into to my first public high school teaching gig, and the one thing that I cannot stop thinking to myself is “I had NO idea how hard this job is.”

This is a second career or sorts for me, because I spent the first 15 years of my adult life learning, doing research, and coming up with fun/cool activities that would help teachers. I remember getting stressed out once in a while then.

That was nothing.

Being a high school teacher is the hardest thing I’ve ever had to do, and that includes my 8-hour PhD comprehensive exam (and preparing for it for months), my MSc OR PhD defence, giving birth twice, and even recovering from a stroke.

I’ve tried writing this post several times over from this point on, and keep deleting my thoughts because I just don’t feel brave enough to share my true experiences at this early stage in my teaching career.

So, instead, I was to send out a public service announcement of sorts, as someone who can still see this world from an outside perspective: please, please respect your teachers, and your kids’ teachers.

Every teacher I have met is trying to do the best they can with the resources they have, with the background knowledge they have, and with the students they have. They are all trying their best to make your child(ren)’s life at school as educational, interesting, happy, and safe as possible.

They deserve your kindness, your respect, and your gratitude. Thank a teacher today!

For those other new teachers out there – do the best your can, hang in there, and I’m right there with you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

