Into High School

I will be starting my transition into the high school system in September! I have been hired by the Avon Maitland District School Board for their secondary occasional teacher (OT) list, and I’m so excited!

Over the summer, I’ve been doing some professional reading (more to come), took two AQs (read about those here and here), and have been checking in on my Twitter PLN. One thing that cropped up in the latter is the HackLearning Back to School Hacks series. The first session is about choosing One Thing to be great at this year (#onething).

Since I’m starting out as an occasional teacher, my #onething (though it could be thought as many) is to really hone my classroom management skills. I think with a well-running classroom comes an opportunity for great learning!

To be clear, I don’t mean being a tyrant and having everything running “perfectly” (whatever that means). What I do mean is being able to provide a safe, comfortable, and inclusive classroom where students can focus on their learning.

I plan on blogging about my experiences throughout the year for a couple of reasons: 1) it’s a good self-reflective practice, and 2) there don’t seem to be many OT voices in the education blogosphere (please let me know if you know any others in the comments), and I think it would be a valuable resource for new teachers.

I’m looking forward to the new part of my journey into high school teaching, and I hope you’ll join me!

This entry was posted in goals, teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Into High School

  1. Pingback: Whirlwind! | Joyous Understanding

Leave a Reply

