Goals for 2016

Now that I have a few months of teaching under my belt, and am starting two new teaching positions in just a couple of days, I’d like to jot down some goals to keep in mind as I move forward this year.

  1. Up the engagement. In my first job, I felt like I was hanging on for dear life and just getting by. Now that I’ll have more time for prep, I can focus on incorporating strategies that are much more engaging.
  2. Investigate new online tools. I’ll already be testing out 3-4 different student response systems in class. Specifically I’d like look more into  (and use!) Pearson’s Learning Catalytics tools.
  3. Move from paper to online. I have some great ideas that I’ve used (some that I haven’t yet), that I get how to do with paper, but want to figure out how to do online instead. This includes things like jigsaw activities, exit/entrance cards, etc.
  4. Foster growth mindset more. I do this easily by modelling the fact that I am a dedicated life-long learner, but would like to take some more deliberate steps.

And the BIG ONE:

5. Get a more stable work situation. Ideally, this would mean getting on the supply list at my local school board! It’s tough going from contract to contract at all different education levels & locations. I’m basically just taking what I can get to cobble together some sort of decent career.

I’m hoping the fact that I keep adding teaching experience will help, and I also plan to taking an additional qualification (special education? physics?) – the issue here is which one will help me the most?

I know I’ll be able to incorporate and improve #1-4 wherever I am teaching, but #5 will be the challenging, as this is a very difficult goal to achieve for anyone these days.

Here’s hoping 2016 will bring more progress toward my career goals!

What are your goals this year?

This entry was posted in goals, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

