Quadratics Done, Exponentials Started

This past week brought the half-way point of two of my one-on-one Grade 11 Math classes, and we completed the quadratics unit. The unit start off strong, but with many outside factors for both students made the end of the unit a struggle.

I’m hoping that things will settle down as we get into the exponential unit.

I like the content of this unit, because there are so many real-life situations that can be modelled by exponential functions – car depreciation, population growth, number of possible pizza from increasing number of pizza toppings, distance of guitar frets, and how gossip spreads. I’m hoping tapping into these more true-to-life applications will help motivate the students.

It’s going to be a busy week for me personally, and I’m concerned how it will affect my prep (for the next unit – Trig – I’m trying to stay a week ahead in lesson planning) and my teaching.

Again, like I’ve written every week, I need to cut myself some slack. It’s okay that not everything is super crazy amazing or engaging.  Sometimes even my most favourite ideas fall flat (for example, the game assignment from the Equivalent Expressions unit ended up being disappointing), and things I think aren’t nearly as engaging are what the students seem to learn the most from (simple dot-to-dot worksheets from the 1970s).

It goes to show you that what works for one student, might not work for another. They all have their different learning styles, preferences, and interests. A choice board might be a good fix for this issue, but I’m not sure if I have the time or will to try it out for this class

This entry was posted in math, Reflection, students, teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quadratics Done, Exponentials Started

  1. Andrea says:

    You definitely don’t need to get fancy! They do just fine without all the bells and whistles and sometimes, those things we think are super fun and engaging actually add extra layers of complexity that end up confusing or overwhelming students. Open-ended tasks/problems when possible are a good way to give them choices.

    Good luck with the next unit!

    Like

Leave a Reply

