Here We Go!

I was offered my first high school teaching job last week, and I’ll be starting next Monday!

I’m teaching private classes at a private school in town to three students. They are all taking grade 11 Math, which involves quadratic, exponential, trigonometric, and discrete functions. They each have very different Math backgrounds, so looks like I’ll be able to use some differentiated instruction!

Right now I’m trying to wrap my head around the curriculum and put together a general course outline.

I’ll be starting with a brief review of important and relevant concepts from grade 9 and 10 math, and discussing properties of functions.

One thing I know I have to do is make sure I don’t try everything under the sun and re-make the entire course from scratch. As much as I would love to do that, it would be incredibly stressful. So, I’m going to take a look at the resources and lessons previous teachers have used and pick and choose a few places to tweak.

Things I’m hoping to do are at least 1 3-act Math activity, an assignment based on Desmos, and connecting the Math with Science.

I hope to blog about this process, so stay tuned!

This entry was posted in math, teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

